10
Oct
08

PO: Fall Out Boy – Folie A Deux

Only one new item today, but its one I imagine will sell a ton – the new Fall Out Boy album. FOB is one of those bands that is hard to know just quite how to feel about them on an overall level. They write some awesome songs, and when it comes to hooks, when they are sharp, no one is safe. But their younger fans scare me and I’m not sure how I feel about them as rock stars and as people. Something just seems…douchebaggy and insincere. But, if the music is good, I’m inclined to continue to ignore it.

ย Fall Out Boy – Folie A Deux (2xLP)

11 Responses to “PO: Fall Out Boy – Folie A Deux”


  1. 1 Rosie
    October 10, 2008 at 6:05 am

    A lot of people feel like that about them, and I can understand that Pete is presented in such a way that people would think that about him, but the other three are extremely sweet and genuine guys.

    Read AbsolutePunk.net’s interview with Patrick from Monday, and check out Joe Trohman’s VIP blog on FriendsorEnemies.com. They’re extremely intelligent and self-effacing kids with a lot of social awareness.

  2. 2 nerdalertrecords
    October 10, 2008 at 6:44 am

    See, my problem is that even with that knowledge, I’m still not sure what I think. Maybe they are great guys, I don’t know, but there’s just something in their displayed persona that just doesn’t seem right.

    But whatever, don’t matter to me as long as they keep writing awesome music. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 m
    October 29, 2008 at 1:28 am

    honestly, this post just proves that you don’t really know them. they are all really nice guys. everyone that talks about them being douchebags doesn’t have any idea what they are really like offstage.

  4. 4 nerdalertrecords
    October 29, 2008 at 1:44 am

    I like how I pose an open question about my possible feelings on FOB as people – not even saying that I had come to that conclusion- and that’s the only time this blog has attracted random comments. Heh.

    Okay children – listen up. I do not know FOB, and I’m pretty damn sure no one commenting on this here blog does either. I mean know like they are my friends, I have their phone numbers and we hang out; not super fan know. I don’t know anything about them from personal experience, all I’m saying is I like the music (most of the time), not sure what I think about them as people based on what little I know about them from non-direct sources. NOT SURE meaning not finalized. Meaning needs more research. Meaning not a complete opinion.

    I will make a comment that I am sure about – using the Internet to defend people you do not even know in real life on blogs that no one reads when the offending comment isn’t even offending if properly read is FUCKING PATHETIC.

  5. 5 m
    October 29, 2008 at 3:37 am

    actually, i do know them IN PERSON and not in a super fan way. which was the only reason i posted a comment in the first place to defend them. so maybe you shouldn’t jump to judgments so quickly about people you don’t know. i think that is fucking pathetic.

  6. 6 nerdalertrecords
    October 29, 2008 at 6:10 am

    Again – I never jumped to conclusions on my opinion – you did that for me.

  7. 7 m
    October 29, 2008 at 6:25 am

    my first comment wasn’t just in response to your questioning of their character, because we all know many people go around saying they have turned into rock star douchebags. But the fact of the matter is that they aren’t really informed on how the band is behind all the spotlights. I wasn’t bashing you for thinking they might be insincere assholes, I was just trying to say that in the 5 years I have been friends with them, they have been nothing but generous people. I was in no way attacking your comment until you decided to call me “fucking pathetic,” without knowing a single thing about me. You jumped to conclusions that I was just a “super fan” that was “pathetic” for defending the band. I took great offense to this, and didn’t expect to be called names from a website that I had previously held a lot of respect for. But I find your reaction to my comments extremely rude and unprofessional, and will be sure to bring my business elsewhere in the future.

  8. 8 nerdalertrecords
    October 29, 2008 at 6:35 am

    Here’s the thing – and I am sure I don’t have to explain how saying something on the Internet is not the same as saying it in person – your first comment and this last comment say the same things but in completely different ways. Had you explained your intentions fully, as you have in your last comment, I would not have reacted in that manner and would have gotten exactly what you meant, but you kinda left out some important wording and details that failed to get the point you were trying to make across. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. 9 m
    October 29, 2008 at 7:21 am

    i don’t really feel that adding more details to my first comment were really necessary. nothing was a personal attack to anyone. i was simply putting the idea out that what people often see or hear about the band is only the surface of who they are as people, and that people have a way of twisting things that are deceiving of their true characters. Irregardless, you jumped to irrational judgments about me, calling names and being offensive. But, I guess the internet makes it ok to disrespect people you don’t know, huh?

  10. December 28, 2008 at 1:47 am

    i think they’re actually a nice, laid back bunch, especially for rock stars.

    hey, anyone here know how to play the hidden track in the album through itunes?


Leave a Reply

